In Nevada, the minimum wage rate is currently $8.25 per hour, unless your employer offers you a qualified health insurance plan, then the rate is $7.25 an hour. Even if you don’t accept the insurance, your employer can still charge you the lower $7.25 rate.
The federal minimum wage is $7.25 an hour. It only applies to employees of businesses with annual gross sales of at least $500,000 and to businesses that are engaged in “interstate commerce.” Some types of employees are also exempt from minimum wage laws (see here for NV). For example, in Nevada minimum wage doesn’t apply to “casual babysitters,” “[d]omestic service employees,” “[t]axicab and limousine drivers,” and independent contractors.
If your employer has not been paying you the proper minimum wage, then you may be able to take legal action to recover lost wages. Employees in Nevada may bring a lawsuit against an employer within 2 years of the violation. You can also file a claim with the Nevada Labor Commission or the Department of Labor. This approach is typically better when smaller amounts of money are involved. Contact my firm today to learn more.
Applicable laws: Fair Labor Standards Act; NRS 608.250-290.
Learn about other wage and hour violations.