Most employers give their employees a pay stub or some record of their wages and salary as they are paid. If this is not the case, or if you have misplaced or not kept what your employer has given you, then you can ask your employer to give you a copy of those records.
Under Nevada law, employers must maintain wage records for each employee which include the following:
- Gross wage or salary (unless provided in the form of services, food, housing, or clothing);
- Net wage or salary;
- Total hours worked during the pay period and each day;
- Date of payment.
Nevada employers must maintain pay records for 2 years after they enter the information into the record.
If you want a copy of your wage or salary records, then your employer must give you a copy within 10 days of submitting a request for them. Submitting your request in writing is a good idea so that, if necessary, you can prove that you did submit a request and when you submitted it.
If you’d like a copy of other documents in your personnel file, then you’ll need to make that request specifically because a separate law governs access to personnel files.