In Nevada, an employer must follow strict deadlines for paying an employee who is terminated or quits. Failing to follow these deadlines can result in costs and penalties.
An Employee Who Is Terminated
Under Nevada law, when an employer fires or lays off an employee, any wages or other compensation earned at that time become due and payable immediately. If an employer fails to pay those wages and compensation within 3 days of the employee’s termination, then the employer owes the discharged employee wages for each day after the termination, for up to 30 days.
Of course, if an employer tries to pay the wages due, then the former employee can’t hide or try to avoid payment in an attempt to increase the penalties.
An Employee Who Quits
When an employee quits or resigns, an employer must pay any earned wages and compensation to the former employee either by the day the employer would have regularly paid the employee or within 7 days of the employee’s last day, whichever is earlier. As with termination, if an employer fails to pay wages and compensation due by that date, then the employer owes the former employee wages and compensation for each day after the employee’s last day, for up to 30 days.
How to Get Your Earned Wages and Any Penalties
If your employer has violated these laws, we might be able to help you recover your pay and the penalty associated with it. We can only help if it’s been more than two weeks since you should have been paid and the total amount owed (pay + penalty) is more than $3,000. Complete the form below to find out if we can help. We’ll respond as soon as possible.
Another option is to file a case on your own in small claims court if the total amount owed is less than $10,000, or in justice court if the amount is from $10,000-15,000. Hiring an attorney makes the process easier for you. Keep in mind, however, that we will keep a percentage of what we recover to compensate us for the work we do.
A final option is to file a wage claim with the Nevada Labor Commissioner, which will investigate the claim and seek to obtain owed wages and possibly also penalties from the employer if it finds the employer violated the law. This option may take some time, but it might be a good one if the amount your employer owes you is less than $3,000.
Case Evaluation Form
Please submit your information in the form below if you’d like us to review your case and discuss options for representation. We can only help if it’s been more than two weeks since you should have been paid and the total amount owed (pay + penalty) is more than $3,000.
If you have any documents you’d like us to review, then please send them to firstname.lastname@example.org. If for any reason the form doesn’t work, you can send your information to that same e-mail address. We look forward to speaking with you.
There are no comments